Bacon burgers with gorgonzola cheese and caramelized onions..

I saw a recipe on Relish called bacon and blue cheeseburgers. It seemed really appealing to me except for the blue cheese. I’m a total cheese lover(you would totally believe that if you saw my jean size!), although I’m not very fond of blue cheese. I wanted something slightly milder tasting than blue cheese. I recently tried gorgonzola cheese and I was instantly in love. The flavor and appearance are really similar to blue cheese, although it doesn’t have that “bitter” taste to it as much. If you don’t like either cheeses, feta would go great with this recipe as well. I don’t recommend using other cheeses besides those three. You mix the cheese in with the ground beef, and crumbled cheeses like blue cheese, gorgonzola, and feta don’t melt the same as other cheeses. I suppose you could use goat cheese as well, but yuck. That shit is gross, it literally tastes the way goats smell. The thought makes me shudder. Anyway…. I also decided to add caramelized onions to put on top of the burgers, as this goes really well with the flavor of the cheese.

Before I get started on the recipe, I wanted to get a little into the ground beef I use whenever I  make burgers. I have a fancy shmancy stand mixer, and to go along with it I have a meat grinder attachment. I love, and I mean LOVE, grinding my own meat. First of all, you know your ground beef is coming from ONE cow. It also doesn’t have added water to it. The flavor, over all, is just so much more amazing. And the best part is you can use all different cuts of meat. I really love using sirloin. If you do not have your own meat grinder, or a meat grinder attachment to go with a stand mixer, you can always have your cut of meat ground for you at the store. I promise, you will never buy ground beef EVER again. Did I mention you can also grind bacon and mix it into your burger mix? Effing yum!

  • One pound ground sirloin or chuck roast.
  • Five ounces of bacon, chopped and fried until crispy.
  • Four ounces gorgonzola cheese.
  • One egg.
  • One teaspoon salt.
  • Two large red onions, sliced.

Break up ground sirloin into a large bowl. Add egg and mix thoroughly. Gently add in bacon and cheese until combined. Add salt.

Shape into four-inch wide and 3/4 inch thick patties.

image

Check out those beautiful patties!

Preheat pan on high heat. Sear on both sides, and cook to your personal preference. Note: if you are using freshly ground beef, it does not take as long to cook, so be careful not to over cook them.

Add a little butter and olive oil to a pan on high heat. Add onions, and a bit of salt. Saute until they are nice and caramelized. Place on top of burger patties.

image

Enjoy, bitches!

One thought on “Bacon burgers with gorgonzola cheese and caramelized onions..

  1. Pingback: Cooking for children with autism | Cookin'.... and Motherin'!

Leave a Reply

