Happy Easter, bitches!

The boy decided to rise and shine at 6:30 this morning, after having a night of waking up several times. I wanted to put my own head through the wall, this is how tired I was. At first he was in a good mood, but right around the time I needed to start making our Easter brunch, his mental state started to crumble. So I busted out the Easter basket. What better way to cheer up a pissed off toddler than a basket full of toys and candy?

IMAG0323

 

The blur is my son going straight for the bunny cooper with the candy on the inside!

Twenty minutes later he was bouncing off the walls. He was screaming, running, jumping on me and rolling across the floor. Exhaustion plus candy equals a mega sugar high. Parenting win! Finally after about a half hour he settled down started playing with his hot wheels and the bunny cooper!

IMAG0325

 

While the food was finishing up, we had our Easter egg hunt! I gotta say, I’m very proud of my little guy. He’s a pro at hunting eggs! He’s also a pro at crushing them….

IMAG0330

 

My family was very satisfied with the food! The brunch bake was absolutely delicious. The crust was perfectly flaky, and the ricotta cheese made the egg mixture very creamy and flavorful.

IMAG0333

 

I was not at all happy with how the bacon came out. Martha Stewart, I am very disappointed in you! You’d think prison would have given her plenty of time to master a bacon recipe, but no. I’ve never baked bacon before, and I will probably never bake it again. It didn’t come out crispy at all, it was rubbery. Who the hell wants to eat rubbery bacon?! I ended up pan frying the bacon some to achieve some crispness, but it was still sub par. The glaze tasted good, but next time I will pan fry the bacon, and drizzle the glaze on it after it is cooked.

Everyone’s favorite was the fruit tarts. Paula Dean recipes never fail to delight my taste buds. The crust was amazing, with just the right amount of sweetness. The cream cheese mixture was amaze balls, and the fresh strawberries on top made it a perfect spring time dessert.

IMAG0327

 

All in all, my Easter this year was fantastic. You will never hear me bitching about holidays and how “fake” or “corporate” they are. Holidays are what you make of them, and for me they are all about showing my family a few times a year just how much I adore them.

If you would like to see the recipes for what I made today, go to my previous post about my Easter brunch here.

Leave a Reply

