Feta, spinach, onion and pepper quesadillas!

It’s lunch time! I made something today for my lunch that I’ve made hundreds of times since I found the recipe on Pinterest. It’s a quesadilla filled with feta cheese, caramelized onions and peppers, and spinach. It sounds like a somewhat odd combination, but it is really delicious, and I haven’t met a single person I’ve shared this recipe with that didn’t love it. My son loves it too, and I would definitely consider it a kid friendly recipe as it is very rich tasting, but has lots of veggies in it. It’s a recipe I would also consider a pretty healthy one. With all the spinach, you can’t go wrong! And one reason I love feta cheese so much is it has far fewer calories than most other cheeses, but still packs a lot of flavor.

Please excuse how dark this picture is! I scarfed down my lunch before realizing I hadn’t snapped a picture of it, and I had to go looking through my Instagram pictures to find one of it.

223897_515170921843409_2020126878_n

  • One large tortilla
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese
  • One and a half cups spinach, chopped
  • 1/4 cup onions, sliced
  • 1/4 cup yellow peppers, sliced
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter

In a skillet, heat up oil and butter. The best reason to use a combination is because the butter keeps the oil from burning. Add peppers and onions, with a little salt, and saute until both are caramelized. Only add spinach when the peppers and onions are finished, because spinach cooks very quickly! Put in a bowl and set aside. Put a little more oil in the skillet, and lay the tortilla flat inside. Put your cheese on one half of the tortilla, add veggies, and fold. Cook until crisp on both sides.

Leave a Reply

