My kid has a fucked up sleeping schedule… the 1 am edition

It’s 1:10 am, and I am awake. Why, you may be wondering? The beast has decided that it’s time to party, that’s why.

Kylan typically goes down for his nap every day between 11 am and noon. Lately, on days when he takes naps, I can’t get the little shit head to go down for bed until freaking 10 pm. WTF. Mommy needs her alone time, damn it! When he goes to bed that late, I can kiss my “me time” goodbye. Just go to bed later, they say. Yeah fucking right! A few nights ago he didn’t go to bed until 10:30. When he finally went down, I plopped my ass on the couch to watch The Hobbit, which I knew was going to be, like, the best movie ever(among my other endearing qualities, I’m also a nerd for anything Peter Jackson). Thirty minutes into it, I was passing out. Ugh. When you’re a mom, you’re internal clock devolves. Your body becomes tired not too long after your spawn has gone to bed. So no matter what time Kylan goes to bed, I’m pretty much guaranteed to be ready for bed around 11, whether I want to be or not.

Tonight after I got off work, I decided to go to the grocery store. This is what happens when you’re not a nine-to-fiver. You get shit done later at night. Kylan actually went to bed at a decent time, I purposely skipped his nap so he would be in bed by 8. I was thrilled… I was going to be able to go to the grocery store alone, and would have had plenty of time for my desperately needed alone time after arriving home. But something happened that fucked all my shit up; Kylan woke up. Normally this wouldn’t be such a big deal. Except mommy wasn’t home to put him back to bed, only grandma was. He loves his grandma, but when he has woken up and is half asleep, he only wants his mommy. When I arrived home, I was excited to learn that even though he was not happy mommy wasn’t there, he went back to sleep. My excitement was short-lived. I went into the room to use the bathroom, almost killed myself tripping over his damned tricycle, and he woke up….screaming. Fuck me! I scooped him out of his crib, cuddled him in the rocking chair for about ten minutes, and put him back down. Twenty minutes later he was screaming. I have well established at this point that I am not cold-hearted enough to let him cry it out….

Kaboom

So here I am, blogging my frustrations while Kylan plays monkey preschool lunch box on my phone.

 

Leave a Reply

