Cheddar jalapeno chicken burgers with guacamole

A few weeks ago, a friend on Facebook posted about discovering ground chicken. I made a face. I love chicken, but the visual of ground chicken made me want to throw up and eat it. I don’t know why I felt that way. Probably because raw chicken kind of grosses me out, so the thought of ground raw chicken furthered that feeling of gross-ness.

Yesterday I changed my opinion on ground chicken when I saw a recipe for cheddar jalapeno chicken burgers with guacamole. I made them tonight for dinner, and sweet baby Jesus they were amazing!

IMAG0386_1

 

 

  • One pound ground chicken breast
  • One cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 cup white onion, chopped and sautéed
  • One fresh jalapeno, finally chopped without the seeds(unless you want to die)
  • One tablespoon ground cumin
  • One teaspoon salt

Easy as pie, mix all the shit together and form into patties. I recommend making them as flat as possible. The first one I grilled was too thick, and it took an annoyingly long time to cook all the way.

Now for my guacamole recipe! I get annoyed when I see guacamole recipes online, they are weak! Guacamole should be full of flavor!

  • Three medium, ripe avocados
  • 1/4 cup red onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, minced
  • One tablespoon sour cream
  • One teaspoon mayonnaise
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • One teaspoon lemon pepper(this is KEY, believe me!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Splash of lime juice

With a fork or potato masher(or whatever the fuck those things are called), mash the avocados in a bowl. Add onion, cilantro, sour cream, mayonnaise, salt, lemon pepper, cumin and lime juice. Mix together. I promise you will love this guacamole more than life itself.

 

One thought on “Cheddar jalapeno chicken burgers with guacamole

  1. Pingback: How funky is your chicken? | Cookin'.... and Motherin'!

Leave a Reply

