Why cooking and parenting are one in the same.

A couple of friends and members of my family asked me why I decided to write about two very different subjects in one blog. Generally choosing one subject is ideal when blog writing, and I chose two(well three, if you include my ‘random shit’ category). I chose two subjects because one subject will bore me at some point. Maybe it’s the ADD to blame, but I get bored easy, and so I crave variety. In my life, and in my writing. But I don’t feel like cooking and parenting are different at all. If you think about it, they are very much the same.

family-healthy-foods-on-a-budget-03-pg-full

  • They both take a lot of patience. If you lose it, your effort will have meant nothing. Throwing uncooperative food across your kitchen or yelling at your child for being a turd just isn’t going to make cooking or mothering any easier.
  • You always have to expect disaster to happen, at any moment. You always have to bring your A game so you can be on top of things if and when something goes wrong. A good cook and a good mom can handle any disaster thrown in her direction.
  • Not everyone is going to like it, but sometimes the opinion of others just don’t matter. Who gives a shit what other people think? They are not the one that puts the hard work into what you do. And they won’t be around to taste your other amazing dinners or the big milestones in your child’s life.
  • The rewards of your hard work are incredible. There’s no better feeling than watching my family lets out baby-making sounds when they eat dinner(it’s a little creepy too, but whatever!). Dinner brings us together, and when they love what I’ve put in front of them, it feels amazing. When my son says, “I love you”, and gives me random hugs and kisses, I feel like I’m doing everything right, even on days when it felt like I’ve done everything wrong.
  • Putting love into it your cooking and parenting is essential. It not only makes your food taste more amazing and your future relationship with your children more fulfilling, but it is also so so good for your self-confidence. You feel so charged, so motivated, and you want to do better and better each day. 
  • Sometimes you just gotta throw away your cook book and parenting book in the trash and run with it. Your recipes and parenting skills are only as good as your ability to do it yourself. Sure, we all need a little guidance at first to help us learn the basics, but independence just makes us feel so much more accomplished in all that we do. 
  • The most important likeness between cooking and parenting is that you can’t do everything perfect all the time. Not even half the time. God didn’t create us to be perfect beings. He created us to be perfectly imperfect. When we make mistakes, we learn from them and we grow. The sooner we can accept that we do not have the ability to be perfect cooks and parents, the more open-minded we allow ourselves to be. 

So yes, I do believe that cooking and parenting are very much the same. I didn’t even realize that until after creating this blog. In a way it was a perfect coincidence, and it makes this whole journey much more fun, knowing that I can learn from one subject, and apply that knowledge to the other.

Leave a Reply

