Avocado and jack grilled cheese sandwich

It’s national grilled cheese month! I had no idea there was such a thing, but I’m glad there is because grilled cheese sandwiches are where it’s at! They are delicious, and you can get really creative with them. I was checking out a slide show on Relish called America’s 10 Best Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, and it got me thinking that I should come up with some scrumptious grilled cheese sandwich recipes of my own. My fridge is a little sparse right now, but I had just what I needed to make a tasty avocado and jack grilled cheese sandwich. 

IMAG0413

  • Onion hamburger buns, the tops only
  • Sliced jack cheese
  • One small avocado, or half of a medium avocado, sliced
  • Tablespoon mayonnaise
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Heat a non-stick skillet on medium-high. Put a light layer of mayonnaise on the inside of each part of the onion bun. Lay the bread mayonnaise side down on the skillet and add cheese, avocado, salt and pepper. Lay the other piece of bread mayonnaise side up on top. Flip when ready. 

Leave a Reply

