What a best friend really is

Lately my thoughts have been wrapped around past relationships, past friendships to be more specific. Yesterday I happened to stumble upon a blog post in which the author was sharing his experience of having a “bff”. He and his best friend were together for years, and like many best friendships, they lost touch. Years after parting with his best friend he began to examine what a best friend really is. To him, a best friend is the friend that sticks around the longest. I was immediately offended. Anyone can be present for a long period of time, it does not make them a best friend, even if they are a good friend. If you look up the word “best” in the dictionary, the definition says this,

of the highest quality, excellence, or standing.

A best friend is someone who’s friendship has been so beneficial to your life, that no other friendship could match your relationship with that other person. If you one day find yourself in a position where you and your best friend have had a falling out or have gone in separate paths, they are still your best friend.

Contemplating those things made me realize something; even though my best friend and I had a falling out and we have not spoken in nearly two years, he is still, and will always be my best friend. The person he became, and the way that he treated me in the end does not change the good he did for my life for ten years. It does not change the love I feel for him. My best friend saw me through a lot; weight loss, depression, anxiety, bouts of loneliness, the death of my father, etc. I will forever love him for our friendship, and for what he has done for me.

He is not in my life any longer. I do not see him being in my life ever again. But he will forever be a part of me, and he will always be in my thoughts and prayers. He will always be my best friend.

 

231191_225026287524542_1890078_n

Jay, I love you. I miss you. I will forever cherish the years we spent together.

One thought on “What a best friend really is

  1. Pingback: 50 shades of closure | Cookin'.... and Motherin'!

Leave a Reply

