Grilled to the cheese

I’m at the point now where I would really love to create some recipes. I’ve been having a lot of fun experimenting, and now I’d like to try my hand in the creative process of recipes. But I want to start small! So in the spirit of national grilled cheese month I’ve decided to create some interesting grilled cheese sandwich recipes. I’m going to be a little bold and post these recipes before trying them, because I’m awesome like that and I know they’ll be stellar. When I do actually make them(I need to make a trip to the grocery store this week to pick up a few things), I’ll come back and edit this post and add some pictures and my thoughts/possible changes to the recipes.

The Perfect Grilled Cheese Sandwich 800 1581

Closetcooking.com

Pesto and spinach grilled cheese sandwich

  • Two slices Panini bread
  • Mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup raw spinach
  • One slice mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup fresh Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tablespoon green pesto

Jalapeno popper grilled cheese sandwich

  • Two slices white bread
  • Mayonnaise
  • One fresh jalapeno, stem and seeds removed, sliced vertically
  • 1/4 cup cream cheese
  • One slice sharp cheddar cheese

ETA – I made this sandwich tonight, and it was pretty tasty! But I made a change, and there’s another change I will make the next time I make it. First, instead of doing jalapeno slices, I decided to chop the jalapeno. I also mixed the jalapeno pieces in with the cream cheese and added a little salt. I recommend making the cream cheese and jalapeno mixture the night before and sticking it in the fridge to add a little more spice.

6745_640307739329726_1786597503_n

Jam and brie grilled cheese sandwich

  • Two slices sourdough bread
  • Mayonnaise
  • Two tablespoons peach preserves
  • One wedge brie, sliced

Smoked gouda grilled cheese sandwich with peppers and onions

  • Two slices Jewish rye bread
  • Mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup caramelized red onions and yellow peppers
  • Smoked gouda, sliced

I’m not really going to bother with instructions for these recipes. I mean, it’s pretty self-explanatory, right? However, you’ll notice I put mayonnaise as an ingredient for all of these sandwiches. If you want a perfectly crisp grilled cheese sandwich with that buttery taste, the best way to achieve that is to put a thin layer of mayonnaise on each bread slice before grilling. It’s delicious, and you’ll never go back to buttering the bread!

2 thoughts on “Grilled to the cheese

Leave a Reply

